Frozen, now dead?

Ask and answer any and all questions pertaining to Salem's game-play.

Frozen, now dead?

Postby Kjell_Ireheart » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:33 am

Greetings, I started playing again for the first time in ages and ended up getting caught in a flash freeze. Alas, I wasn't able to craft a house in time to warm up and ended up freezing solid. My friend, who didn't have enough humors to help break the cube? decided we'd opt to wait out the flash freeze. Alas, when I tried to log in today I found that I couldn't and I believe I've permanently died as there are no signs of knock out on my character, as per my friend's input.

Checking the Wiki I noticed that freezing didn't mention perma-killing anyone, so could it have been a bug or was I unfortunately ramshackled by some ill-minded ruffian?

Any input on this would be helpful, otherwise, it's time to start fresh!
Kjell_Ireheart

Re: Frozen, now dead?

Postby Taipion » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:03 am

- A lit torch can be used by anyone to unfreeze a character (except itself, if frozen).
- 48h (play time) or so after creating a char, you start gaining insanity which will, if not dealt with, lead to madness and then death.
- Being frozen solid keeps your char logged in, so you gather madness all the time until death.

The wiki should have some info about all that.

[edit:]
- some small houses and the barn in Providence can be entered even without affluence (needed for church and "the den"), inside those buildings you can warm up again
- learn patchwork & rags, gather some reeds on the shore of Providence, weave the reeds for woven reeds count as fibres, and make yourself some basic clothing, in a common coldsnap 2-3 additional clothing items are enough.
It's really easy, if you know what you're doing, you can have a 4-5 additional clothing items before leaving the tutorial or 5 minutes after.
Need something? Here is my Shop (Including some useful info for new/returning players at the bottom of the first post)
Taipion