Where is the sandbox? My first impressions.

Forum for off topic and general discussion.

Where is the sandbox? My first impressions.

Postby Gorukha » Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:33 am

I started playing this game in hopes of finding an enjoyable sandbox mmo. Sadly I was very dissapointed in what I saw. This game is a niche inside a niche product, and the developers idea of a sandbox is greatly warped in my view.
My first problem is gluttony mode. How is this a sandbox concept, in any way realistic or even enjoyable ? This feature forces a player into a narrow tunnel of food grind and skill progression focused primarily on getting better food to eat..... how is this sandbox? Realism is usually a part of sandboxy games....only some kind of obese mental patient could think eating food non stop will make you stronger or smarter.....closer to heart attack maybe, but definitely not fit. Can anyone justify why this feature is necessary at all or enjoyable in the least ?

My second problem is with inspirational . This is almost as backwards of an idea as gluttony mode. First you get stronger from eating, and now you are gaining skill by admiring straw dolls and seasonal art. Point of a sandbox game is gaining skills by doing things you choose to focus on and you aren't restricted in what you should be doing. Inspirationals are are a pointless time sink. As a sandbox player I want to gain skill while doing worthwhile things instead of grinding and stuffing my face in order to gain enough sat and skill to do worthwhile things which in turn I only do to perform more grind and gluttony etc.. It's a vicious circle. The developers are clueless in my view.

I have great respect for sandbox gamers, but I think because of the lack of decent games that cater to the sandbox genre the expectations and standards have been lowered way too far. This game in it's current state is a sad excuse for a game, not to mention a sandbox game.
Gorukha

Re: Where is the sandbox? My first impressions.