Realaks Guide and Tricks to Defensive Base Mechanics.

Forum for off topic and general discussion.

Realaks Guide and Tricks to Defensive Base Mechanics.

Postby Realak » Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:47 pm

Greetings all,

There are three things I enjoy in this game: Raiding,Pvp, and Defensive Base Building. I have extensive experience in all three areas, but I'm here to talk about the latter.
Regardless of my trolling on the forums, I have been busy inside of Salem. I have seen raids from the mightiest humor characters decimate a massive base in hours, and have been part of massive raids myself. Recently, after understanding what it is like to be inside the mind of the raider and seeing how they operate against us, and being one myself, I started thinking outside the box when it comes to defensive mechanics of bases.

Currently, I have been traveling all over the world searching for perfect base spots and claiming them, while building hearthvaults in locations I find just too good to ignore. I have quite a few locations that I have been testing different defensive mechanics, and I will eventually replace the paint pictures with in game screenshots when I get around to it.

So lets get right into it shall we?

WHAT NOT TO DO:

1. Two walls and then thinking your safe. Do you understand that just ONE raider can come along and use both free crimes on each one of your walls before a brazier activates? Boom. Free access. This is the most common thing I see on my travels around the world. Add in more raiders and these small amount of walls villages quicky have a BIG problem.

2. A Large claim/village with multiple gates access. Gates are evil. They are the highway for a raider to enter deeper and deeper into your base. Not one but TWO people can attack a gate at the same time, making destroying one much more efficient then tanking a wall under brazier fire. Two is always better then one, this situation is no different.