Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Forum for suggesting changes to Salem.

Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Apotheon » Tue May 08, 2018 1:27 pm

Weapons automatically go to the toolbelt and are replaced by a tool when a tool-related action is performed. It would be super cool if, when a weapon-related action is used such as Shoot or Club, the corresponding weapon is then replaced from the toolbelt. Perhaps this is not already the case because you don't intend for there to be rapid and effortless weapon-switching during combat? I think that would be quite nice, also.
Apotheon
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:28 am

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Rifmaster » Tue May 08, 2018 1:32 pm

It's meant to be this way, pick a weapon, a set for it, and stick to it.
User avatar
Rifmaster
 
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Chernobyl

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Taipion » Tue May 08, 2018 2:03 pm

Rifmaster wrote:It's meant to be this way, pick a weapon, a set for it, and stick to it.


Self proclaimed Claeyt-Raff at its best, saying it's good that weapons go to the toolbelt when you skin/butcher with a knife, but have to be put back in place manually. :roll:
Need something? Here is my Shop (Including some useful info for new/returning players at the bottom of the first post)
Taipion
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Rifmaster » Tue May 08, 2018 2:12 pm

Taipion wrote:
Rifmaster wrote:It's meant to be this way, pick a weapon, a set for it, and stick to it.


Self proclaimed Claeyt-Raff at its best, saying it's good that weapons go to the toolbelt when you skin/butcher with a knife, but have to be put back in place manually. :roll:


No, I didn't say that, and even that shouldn't happen. Toolbelts for tools, weapons in inventory.
User avatar
Rifmaster
 
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Chernobyl

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Taipion » Tue May 08, 2018 2:48 pm

Rifmaster wrote:
Taipion wrote:
Rifmaster wrote:It's meant to be this way, pick a weapon, a set for it, and stick to it.


Self proclaimed Claeyt-Raff at its best, saying it's good that weapons go to the toolbelt when you skin/butcher with a knife, but have to be put back in place manually. :roll:


No, I didn't say that, and even that shouldn't happen. Toolbelts for tools, weapons in inventory.


Even better!
Weapon gets put to the inventory when replaced by the buchering knife, and then you need to pick the weapon up from the inventory manually to equip it again, you*re a genius!
Need something? Here is my Shop (Including some useful info for new/returning players at the bottom of the first post)
Taipion
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Rifmaster » Tue May 08, 2018 3:00 pm

Taipion wrote:
Even better!
Weapon gets put to the inventory when replaced by the buchering knife, and then you need to pick the weapon up from the inventory manually to equip it again, you*re a genius!


Yes
User avatar
Rifmaster
 
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:13 am
Location: Chernobyl

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby TotalyMeow » Tue May 08, 2018 3:15 pm

The weapon goes to the toolbelt because putting it in inventory sometimes caused an overweight dropping of the weapon. We let it go into the toolbelt as a nice thing for players, but John never wanted the TOOL belt to handle weapons. Fighting is supposed to be a skill and as such, you have to handle your weapon switching manually. If you really don't like it, I could tell him you would all rather he set weapons to go to inventory / fall on the ground again.
Community Manager for Mortal Moments Inc.

Icon wrote:This isn't Farmville with fighting, its Mortal Kombat with corn.
User avatar
TotalyMeow
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:14 pm

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Taipion » Tue May 08, 2018 3:31 pm

TotalyMeow wrote:The weapon goes to the toolbelt because putting it in inventory sometimes caused an overweight dropping of the weapon. We let it go into the toolbelt as a nice thing for players, but John never wanted the TOOL belt to handle weapons. Fighting is supposed to be a skill and as such, you have to handle your weapon switching manually. If you really don't like it, I could tell him you would all rather he set weapons to go to inventory / fall on the ground again.


Not that I care much about this topic at all, but this really is a bad design.

If you go hunting, you want to skin/butcher stuff for various reasons, so you take a knife with you for butchering speed and preventing madness from butchering with bare hands.
So the knife equips automatically, good.
But having to manually re-equip your weapon any time you butchered anything on a hunting trip is bad design and disruptive to the gameplay to say the least.

Feel free to provide arguments why it is a good thing to have to fiddle with that manually every single time. :lol:
Need something? Here is my Shop (Including some useful info for new/returning players at the bottom of the first post)
Taipion
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby TotalyMeow » Tue May 08, 2018 4:04 pm

I think it could be better, sure. Possible the weapon should just go in the other hand, but I think that might make carrying a lit torch impossible. There will always be a tradeoff unless we give you a third hand. :/
Community Manager for Mortal Moments Inc.

Icon wrote:This isn't Farmville with fighting, its Mortal Kombat with corn.
User avatar
TotalyMeow
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:14 pm

Re: Please Allow Weapons to Work with the Toolbelt Properly

Postby Chrumps » Tue May 08, 2018 4:07 pm

It is no big deal to write a plugin which would swap weapon as needed.
In fact I would expect some factions have that already.
Legality is not an issue because it is difficult to prove that a particular sequence of 3 clicks was not initiated by a player directly.

I'd say, let it swap as tools swap for everyone.
Chrumps
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:51 pm
Location: Poland

Next

Return to Ideas & Innovations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests