Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Forum for game modifications and custom clients.

Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Postby gustavohvg » Fri Dec 22, 2017 7:10 am

And where they are?

I'm planing to make something akin to Judaism's old 64x64 mod - which isn't on the web and no one seem to have anymore (?!).
Main char: Alcabitus
User avatar
gustavohvg
 
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:46 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Postby Judaism » Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:26 pm

Get the Salem layer utility:
http://forum.salemthegame.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=5417&p=63185&hilit=compiler#p63185

Make sure to read the example usage for it to work, the current download version is not working for Salem anymore, so I pulled an older version here:
https://github.com/boshaw/hafen-layer-util/tree/eb850676f88f225f2cb1e78f448ac23c5d7391a5

You can then compile the Salem files located in your salem/bin files. The main file you'll need to compile is ''salem-res''.
Then you will get most of the files, you will find the tile files in ''res/gfx/tiles'', those will be small images mostly 124x124 and you can edit them and once you're done you can recompile them back to .res files and drop them in your custom_res folder.

When making edits with the res-files make sure that the meta's do match otherwise the automatic updater will reload fresh files from the server instead of loading from your custom_res.

Goodluck and once you've made some mods I'll be sure to check them out.
JohnCarver wrote:Mortal Moments Inc. is not here to cannibalize the community or piece out the code. We are not here because we wish to institute pay to win models or PvE servers. Quite the contrary.
User avatar
Judaism
Customer
 
Posts: 3692
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Postby dragunov » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:13 am

I think ill give this a try and see how far i can lower the resolutions. The loading times are killer for me atm...
User avatar
dragunov
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:35 pm

Re: Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Postby gustavohvg » Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:34 am

Everything with a command line seems like an unpaid job for me but I'll eventually make the software run an try. I think I'll try 30x30 pixels and 60x60
Main char: Alcabitus
User avatar
gustavohvg
 
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:46 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Postby Kandarim » Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:46 am

for future reference, i have a fork of the layer util that works on the current salem resource files: https://github.com/DonnEssime/salem-layer-util
I have neither the crayons nor the time to explain it to you.
JC wrote:I'm not fully committed to being wrong on that yet.
User avatar
Kandarim
Customer
 
Posts: 5257
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:18 pm

Re: Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Postby gustavohvg » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:05 pm

Ok I used both versions of Salem Layer Utility (the one Kandarim linked and the one Juda linked) and sucessfully decoded SOME of the images. I did put the software in C:/User/.salem/cached/res/ and used the command (slu:run :mode :da :args '("gfx/" "decoded/gfx/") ).

But the decoding from both versions does not work anymore when I run the command. The software thinks all the decoding is complete since it returns "Processing: 983 files" and "NIL".

The problem is that I only have 2 folders from "tiles" decoded (bone pavement and darkenbone pavement) and my original .salem/cached/res/tiles have 16 files

:?

edit: I'm using a x64 Windows and x64 Java
Main char: Alcabitus
User avatar
gustavohvg
 
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:46 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Which images should I re-size for a minimalist-mod?

Postby Judaism » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:55 pm

gustavohvg wrote:Ok I used both versions of Salem Layer Utility (the one Kandarim linked and the one Juda linked) and sucessfully decoded SOME of the images. I did put the software in C:/User/.salem/cached/res/ and used the command (slu:run :mode :da :args '("gfx/" "decoded/gfx/") ).

But the decoding from both versions does not work anymore when I run the command. The software thinks all the decoding is complete since it returns "Processing: 983 files" and "NIL".

The problem is that I only have 2 folders from "tiles" decoded (bone pavement and darkenbone pavement) and my original .salem/cached/res/tiles have 16 files

:?

edit: I'm using a x64 Windows and x64 Java


You used the wrong command, you should decode all res/cache files from res folder into dec folder.

Decode:

Code: Select all
(slu:run :mode :da
         :skip-old nil
         :verbose nil
         :args '("salem/res" "salem/dec"))


So the last phrase is important there, which map do you want to decode from with the example it is ''salem/res'''. Then there is a space and which folder do you want to drop the decoded files to, in the example case it is ''salem/dec''

If you make a single spelling error, it will not work.
Code: Select all
 So if you want the dec files back into res you'll use this:

(slu:run :mode :ea
         :args '("salem/dec" "salem/new-res"))


Same thing, ''salem/dec'' are your decoded files and ''salem/new-res'' where it will drop the folders, once again you can change that to your own maps but the names have to be exact.
JohnCarver wrote:Mortal Moments Inc. is not here to cannibalize the community or piece out the code. We are not here because we wish to institute pay to win models or PvE servers. Quite the contrary.
User avatar
Judaism
Customer
 
Posts: 3692
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Artifice & Arcana

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kitty629 and 4 guests