How to localize/translate the text?

Forum for game modifications and custom clients.

How to localize/translate the text?

Postby prozhong » Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:09 am

Hello guys,
I know English is the native language to most of players
and it is also recommended speaking English on forum

I'm here just to ask whether it's possible to access/modify the language displayed?

I heard there is a RU language version client, may I have its author's name or the way change client language?

If true, I can work for the Chinese simplified /Chinese Traditional translation.
User avatar
prozhong
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:27 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby prozhong » Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:41 am

It seems that all the text data displayed on items are received from the server?

:cry: So hard
User avatar
prozhong
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:27 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby MagicManICT » Sat Jan 10, 2015 11:35 am

prozhong wrote:Hello guys,
I know English is the native language to most of players


Don't make such assumptions. I really couldn't say how many here, total numbers or percentage of player base, are native speakers, but there are a LOT of people from many other countries... I'd wager possibly the majority are non-native English speakers. Trying to support many languages with a small staff isn't really practical, though.

Some of the text is server based, but much can be modded by the players. If nothing else, the client could be modded to interpret the incoming server messages. As far as technical details of doing this, there have been some tools put up by players in Artifice & Arcana. Whether they would be enough to do it all or not, I wouldn't know. One of the first things I would look at would be the resource tools to see what could be changed locally without modding a client.
I am a moderator. I moderate stuff. When I do, I write in this color.
JohnCarver wrote:anybody who argues to remove a mechanic that allows "yet another" way to summon somebody is really a carebear in disguise trying to save his own hide.
MagicManICT
 
Posts: 5088
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:46 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby prozhong » Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:52 pm

It would be better if we can translate item name text string by change one .xml or else
¦]
User avatar
prozhong
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:27 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby prozhong » Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:11 pm

MagicManICT wrote:
prozhong wrote:Hello guys,
I know English is the native language to most of players


Don't make such assumptions. I really couldn't say how many here, total numbers or percentage of player base, are native speakers, but there are a LOT of people from many other countries... I'd wager possibly the majority are non-native English speakers. Trying to support many languages with a small staff isn't really practical, though.

Some of the text is server based, but much can be modded by the players. If nothing else, the client could be modded to interpret the incoming server messages. As far as technical details of doing this, there have been some tools put up by players in Artifice & Arcana. Whether they would be enough to do it all or not, I wouldn't know. One of the first things I would look at would be the resource tools to see what could be changed locally without modding a client.


I followed this http://forum.salemthegame.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=5417 but found my salem-res.jar maybe out of date -- is it 43,868 KB?
I get it from http://game.salemthegame.com/java/salem-res.jar
User avatar
prozhong
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:27 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby MagicManICT » Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:08 pm

You're going beyond my depth of knowledge in modding the game. It would probably be best to take this up in Artifice & Arcana and ask those that have previously done mods. Some may not be active any more but may be willing to answer questions if you can find contact information for them from outside these forums.

I'll to move this thread there if you'd like.
I am a moderator. I moderate stuff. When I do, I write in this color.
JohnCarver wrote:anybody who argues to remove a mechanic that allows "yet another" way to summon somebody is really a carebear in disguise trying to save his own hide.
MagicManICT
 
Posts: 5088
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:46 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby Kandarim » Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:41 pm

prozhong wrote:I followed this http://forum.salemthegame.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=5417 but found my salem-res.jar maybe out of date -- is it 43,868 KB?
I get it from http://game.salemthegame.com/java/salem-res.jar


That's the right location to be getting salem-res.jar, but the files in it might not be completely up-to-date.
The salem-res archive bundles a large set of .res files on all kinds of things - monsters, buildings, and so on. It contains 3d models, rendering code, and pretty much anything pertaining to everything.
HOWEVER, the client also checks with the server whether these files are up-to-date. If they are not, the client downloads the most recent version of the files from the server and saves it as a .cached file in ~/.salem
So the salem-jar file is basically a large cache of resource files that may not all be up to date, but which allows the client to pre-load a large number of them with little effort. It is not updated VERY often, as updating it makes everyone redownload it :)

This is the current state of the most recent salem-jar file:

Image
I have neither the crayons nor the time to explain it to you.
JC wrote:I'm not fully committed to being wrong on that yet.
User avatar
Kandarim
Customer
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:18 pm

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby prozhong » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:43 am

MagicManICT wrote:You're going beyond my depth of knowledge in modding the game. It would probably be best to take this up in Artifice & Arcana and ask those that have previously done mods. Some may not be active any more but may be willing to answer questions if you can find contact information for them from outside these forums.

I'll to move this thread there if you'd like.


sure,please move this there
User avatar
prozhong
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:27 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby prozhong » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:55 am

Kandarim wrote:
prozhong wrote:I followed this http://forum.salemthegame.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=5417 but found my salem-res.jar maybe out of date -- is it 43,868 KB?
I get it from http://game.salemthegame.com/java/salem-res.jar


That's the right location to be getting salem-res.jar, but the files in it might not be completely up-to-date.
The salem-res archive bundles a large set of .res files on all kinds of things - monsters, buildings, and so on. It contains 3d models, rendering code, and pretty much anything pertaining to everything.
HOWEVER, the client also checks with the server whether these files are up-to-date. If they are not, the client downloads the most recent version of the files from the server and saves it as a .cached file in ~/.salem
So the salem-jar file is basically a large cache of resource files that may not all be up to date, but which allows the client to pre-load a large number of them with little effort. It is not updated VERY often, as updating it makes everyone redownload it :)

This is the current state of the most recent salem-jar file:

Image


I had changed the salem-res.jar\res\paginae\act\adv.res\action data by using the "salem-layer-util-master"

;ACTION Layer data file
;pr (string):

;pversion (uint-16):
0
;name (string):
Adventureffff
;prerequisite skill (ignored) (string):

;hk (uint-16):
118
;ad length (uint-16):
0

After encode I put *.res back in salem-res.jar, but the text in game didn't change...

(I cleared the java cache)


I changed the text "adventure" to "adventureffff" but didn't work,is that all because my salem-res.jar out-of-date and the server push me a new cache in .salem? And all my changes done in old jar won't work?

Or the server checks my data different and I get one from server instead local?

Sorry for my poor english ¦]
User avatar
prozhong
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:27 am

Re: How to localize/translate the text?

Postby Kandarim » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:46 am

There's also such a thing as resource file version. Make sure your version (in one of the meta files for extracted res or cached files) matches that of the latest version or the server will simply overwrite it.
I have neither the crayons nor the time to explain it to you.
JC wrote:I'm not fully committed to being wrong on that yet.
User avatar
Kandarim
Customer
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:18 pm

Next

Return to Artifice & Arcana

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests